Tags

, ,

From the logbook of HMS Skyra Brae

10 June 18–

Unwilling to countenance loss of speed and manoeuvrability on our transatlantic flight, I ordered a full review of our arms and provisions, to be followed by a test of our loading protocols.

On the 9th, we began mustering our provisions in toto, according to a list compiled over the course of the preceding weeks. During this preliminary stage, a number of shiny but otherwise non-essential items made their way into the hold, in the understanding that they would probably be jettisoned at a later stage. (They were.)

Captain and Purser absconded in the dinghy to the outpost to procure needed replacement gear and more economical uniforms. The uniforms were duly purchased, being deemed both lightweight and serviceable; they occupy less room that we had conceived possible and will adapt to divers environments.

Also at the outposts, we rounded out our storage facilities with the purchase of auxiliary transportation vessels. I had originally intended to procure a dispatch case that would lend me a certain amount of dignity at Important Functions. I was, however, sidetracked by a beautifully utilitarian model, from which no amount of mental persuasion could pry my limpet-like fancy. It is a burnt red in color, with brown leather trim that shall match my boots nicely. Dignity, indeed.

As expected, the last-minute additions to our carefully-crafted list were the first to be abandoned. Our cold-weather billets were jettisoned as well, on the understanding that lighter, more efficient models could be procured during travel. In the end, unpacked items–cold-weather apparel–occupied approximately two cubic feet at the foot of my bunk. I rather suspect that I could get them all squared away into odd storage lockers here and there, if I really put my mind to it. I also suspect that the strategy would leave me no margin for error and would increase stress on both the ship and our collective psyche. I can spare a few of the provisions in exchange for increased peace of mind.

And now to off-load anything that didn’t make it aboard. Furniture, anyone?

