Tags

, , , , ,

Upside to marriage #23: Living with someone who wears white socks and undershirts. I have so few whites that even when I wait for them all to be dirty at the same time, they comprise maybe half a load. Enter NTS, who owns at least 2/3 of a load of whites _and_ is sweet enough to throw mine in at the same time. He’s also better at remembering to do laundry.

And since I’m thinking of it, here’s upside to marriage #24: We can cook family-sized portions of food and eat the leftovers for a few days. As opposed to when I was single, and would be eating the same food all week until I never wanted to see it again.

N.B. Both of these also apply to co-habitation.

oOo

And speaking of food, the real purpose behind this post: my first foray into recipe-sharing in the Far Outer Hebrides.*

Quick Veggie Not-Quite-Lasagna

This recipe contains almost no carbohydrates and ranks very low on the glycemic index.

1 lb lean ground beef or turkey
1 c shredded mozzarella
1 can white beans
2 8-oz cans seasoned diced tomatoes
1 large or 2 small zucchini
1 large or 2 small yellow squash
12 leaves basil, coarsely chopped
fresh-ground pepper to taste

Preheat over to 350F. Brown beef/turkey in skillet, sprinkle with pepper, and drain. Chop zucchini and squash into large bite-sized chunks. Drain and rinse white beans. Drain tomatoes, squeezing to remove all excess moisture, or there will be water in the bottom of your casserole. Mix all ingredients together in 9″ x 11″ casserole dish and season with pepper. Sprinkle top with leftover mozzarella (optional). Bake 35 minutes.

Voila: dinner. Serves 7, served alone without sides. Really, it has everything in it you could need. Except whole grains.

oOo

In other domestic news, I’ve been sewing costumes for the past few days. I’ve now finished one tunic and cut out two others, one of which is now half-sewn. I’ve also been teaching NTS to sew, because the amount of garb we need is not for the faint of heart. He’s nearly finished with his first pair of pants. I only did a little, and that because I needed to steal the machine for my own project.

Why are we sewing so much? you may ask. Well, that is a post for another day. And hopefully a post with pictures. I’ve got to put my blogger-camera to use.

* Wow. Now that I’m actually going to be located slightly to the east of the Hebrides instead of in the New World, the blog name is going to have to be metaphorical instead of geographical. Well, we’re up to the challenge. And there’s always Captain Brid, high in the aetherosphere.

