Tags

, , , , ,

(Probably part 1 of many; the man knows how to write.)

The main rule of writing is that if you do it with enough assurance and confidence, you’re allowed to do whatever you like. (That may be a rule for life as well as for writing. But it’s definitely true for writing.) So write your story as it needs to be written. Write it ­honestly, and tell it as best you can. I’m not sure that there are any other rules. Not ones that matter.

Neil Gaiman

o O o

I’d forgotten how much I actually do enjoy reading scholarly publications–lately, I’ve mostly been reading textbooks, which are not the same. If I can just remember how much I do enjoy them, doing my assigned reading will be much less of a task.

And now, as I’m in the grip of remembering, I will return to ‘A perceptual study of Scottish dialects’.

Beannachd leibh,

Brid

