Tags

, , , ,

For my first major Scottish Steampunk thrifting coup (hopefully of many), I bring you…

the Harris tweed skirt with leather waist. For the outrageous price of three pounds fifty, this honey has it all. Genuine Harris tweed–note the label from the original garment–real red leather (it only shines like that when the flash goes off), lovely hardware for hanging things and a really Victorian deep red tone.

The gentleman at the used clothing shop says it’s got to be the work of a man in town (Edinburgh) who refashions out-of-fashion Harris tweed (a famous name for the island’s best-known export) into more modern garments. I approve.

Verso. It has laces and buckles!

The red leather effectively acts as a Swiss waist. I think I’ll pair it with a cropped jacket in bronze or garnet and a bronze underskirt. Preferably knee-length with a ruffled edge over a petticoat. Or I could add a simple white blouse and boot or ankle-length skirt when I’m feeling demure. So many possibilities. And such an unexpected Scottish twist to find while thrifting.

