Tags

, ,

After a weekend recovering from the grind of applications, it was time to make good on some promises I had made to myself. I looked into the times for the local yoga studio and lo! an 8-week beginner session was slated to begin the very next day. I’ve taken some yoga classes before, but they were mixed classes, with beginner and intermediate students. I wanted to build my technique from the ground up.

 

View from my window. Pencil jar, adventurine globe from Spain, wooden water lilies from a charity shop.

View from my window. Pencil jar, adventurine globe from Spain, wooden water lilies from a charity shop.

It’s a good thing I convinced myself that yoga was important to me, or I might have lost my resolve. I got there and registered, but when I handed over my student card, the receptionist frowned. ‘I’m sorry,’ she said, ‘but I’m afraid the student price is only for undergraduates.’

What?

After a few minutes of deliberation, I concluded that the energy I had built up for yoga was too good to waste. I wanted to take yoga, and I wanted to take it two months ago. I would do the beginner course, even if it was twice the cost I had expected (about $11 per class for the beginner course, slightly less after that). I may see if there’s a studio around that doesn’t discriminate on its student status–I’ve never been turned away for discounts at other places, but then, they aren’t 50% discounts, either; usually 10%–or I may stick with this studio.

I’ve always hesitated to pay much for fitness and dance classes when I can exercise at home, but I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s worth it, within reason. I don’t like exercising at home. Although now that I’m learning yoga properly, I am willing to practice what we’ve learned in class at home, so that’s a win on two fronts. And it’s a healthcare investment, and physical therapy for an old leg muscle injury that still gives me trouble sometimes if I don’t exercise/stretch enough. You can’t turn down PT at $11 per week.

Of course, there’s the minor investment of yoga clothes… wait, no there isn’t. My favourite summer tops are all yoga/exercise tops from Patagonia already.

Gaiam yoga mat. My last mat was from a discount shop and was rather slippery, so I went with a brand I was familiar with.

Gaiam yoga mat. Isn’t it pretty? My last mat was from a discount shop and was rather slippery, so I went with a brand I was familiar with.

While I was buying my yoga mat, I realized another long-held ambition: to replace my desk chair, which does nothing at all for my back, with a giant ball. Done and done. I am perched atop my giant (55cm) ball. It is certainly more interesting than my desk chair—I’m certainly not sitting still. My back definitely notices a difference; how it  likes it remains to be seen.

Lilies, window sill and garden

