Tags

, , ,

I’ve had Steampunk on the brain for the past few days.

For the unitiated: Steampunk is a re-imagining of the Victorian era, now the way it was, but the way it might have been if technology had advanced as some people imagined. Jules Verne, with his mighty submarine Nautilus and men who flew into space, might be considered the grandfather of the genre, which has taken off in recent decades. For more, google ‘What is steampunk’, but be warned; it means many things to many people. But one thing is certain: it has a very cool aesthetic.

Three guesses how many exposures it took to get this shot without my husband's help.

Three guesses how many exposures it took to get this shot without my husband’s help.

Ever since finding out about a steampunk ceilidh in April (the last one was during finals), I’ve been looking at pictures. Over the past few days, I’ve conceived and discarded half a dozen ballgowns.

Then I looked in the mirror. With the exception of the leather bodice, this is the outfit I’ve been wearing all day. Maybe coming up with a steampunk outfit won’t be so complicated after all.

This is the red leather and Harris tweed number I found a few months ago, the best 3 pounds 50 I ever spent on Steampunk.

This is the red leather and Harris tweed number I found a few months ago, the best 3 pounds 50 I ever spent on Steampunk. It’s too dark to render the color right in the mirror tonight, but you get the picture.

Something to listen to with your steampunk? How about Can’t Talk About It from Abney Park‘s new album? As they describe it, ‘Abney Park comes from an era that never was, but one that we wish had been.’ It’s a fun, if fictional, good time.

