Tags

, , ,

I went on a sturdy DIY kick with a lot of my Christmas presents this year, as befits a college student. As promised in The Post-Christmas Wrap-up, Part 1, here is the second wave of hand-crafted Christmas goodness.

What do we do with vintage lace?

Vintage lace frame

Why, we frame it, of course! I ruthlessly stripped Thomas the Tank Engine from his frame to provide it a home.

Earring frames

You can’t see it in the picture, but the narrow, wood-colored frame has a bamboo texture. I thought about adding some embellishment, but the delicate frame seemed to have enough detail already. In the end, I only added one brass shell for my beach-loving sister.

Square earring frame

The blue frame presented an extra challenge, in that it (and the sun) cried out to be painted. I think it was a dark-colored wood originally; I just bought it for the shape. After three coats of blue during which I tried to get the finish just right, I had to joy of antiquing it with a coat of white. Let me tell you, you can have a lot of fun acquiring just the right “aged” patina, smearing on and rubbing off coats of white paint. I highly recommend it.

Sun frame

The sun came to me painted a particularly deep shade of magenta–why would you paint a sun dark magenta?–and framing a round mirror. It had a lot of interior corners to paint. Again I applied and wiped off white acrylic, in this case to mimic the sun’s rays. I was excited to find a round frame for a round piece of lace. I felt terrible cutting and gluing the lace, but at least it’s going to a good home.
But, you ask, why would you put lace in a frame? This is the good bit, the bit I may have forgotten to tell my sisters. (Not that they would have read their Christmas cards until after the fact anyway. Cretins.) They’re made to hold earrings. And unlike many commercial earring holders, the little rubber earring backs fit through the holes.
earring frames with sunMerry Christmas, crafters. You know that holidays are when you make them!
