Tags

, , ,

He translates the Dutch but not the Latin? Who does he think is reading this?

Drink every time Tolkein is cited for his scholarly work! (Bremmer 181)

Travelogues from the 17th and 18th cents must be interesting.

These 16th century scholars mention the same struggle to get copies of pivotal books that I often experience. Only theirs aren’t to be had for love or money, while mine aren’t to be had for love alone.

From NOWELE 24 p5: samwiis ‘dull, foolish’. I’m really on a surprise Tolkein kick.

It suddenly occurs to me that I have no idea how books were printed between the early nineteenth century and the advent of computer-aided “type-setting”. This, incidentally, was prompted by the somewhat rustic (as compared to what I can do on my PC given half an hour) layouts of diagrams in books by small publishers in the eighties (all of my research materials this week seem to be from the eighties. Go figure) .

Is an etymological dictionary of Welsh too much to ask for?

Waterfall at Dunvegan Castle, Skye, September 2012

Waterfall at Dunvegan Castle, Skye, September 2012

