Tags

, ,

I am full of delicious food.*

It started last week, chatting with a friend from New Haven (CT) who was going home after her year abroad. NTS and I were getting mildly jealous at the things she’s probably been stuffing her face with this past week: real bagels with real cream cheese; empanadas; burritos bursting with cilantro, black beans and salsa.

And so it was that South-Western Salad Mach 1 was born.

South-Western Salad

10 (fluid) oz cooked quinoa
1 can black beans (cannelloni beans may be used if black beans are conspicuously unavailable in your country)
6 oz salsa
sour cream
aged cheddar cheese, grated
1 red pepper, chopped
spring onions, chopped
cayenne pepper (optional)

Heat quinoa and beans; add cheddar; add everything else, with sour cream on top. Our quinoa happened to be chicken buillion flavored because it was left over from dinner last night, and I suspect that added to the deliciousness. Bean sprouts would have been a good addition if I had thought of them in time. I think this will be one of my go-to dinners from now on. It tastes like happiness.

Leftovers look so much more festive in pretty jars, don't they? Honestly, I had run out of appropriately-sized tupperware.

Leftovers look so much more festive in pretty jars, don’t they? Honestly, I had run out of appropriately-sized tupperware.

* This should not be construed as an reminder to dragons that I am crunchy and good with ketchup.
