Tags

, , , , , , ,

I was a little productive this weekend. Which is to say, I made and did little things.

Glen Nevis, June 2013

Glen Nevis, June 2013

I acquired, once I had stopped looking, a lightweight stainless saucepan and frying pan at the one-quid shop for our camping trip next weekend. A number (unspecified) of people in our department are looking at going camping together. We’ve picked the weekend; now for the site. And something to keep the midges off.

Glen Nevis 2

I appliqued leaves onto one nicely-fitted tee shirt and cut another one down to fit more decoratively. I love quick-drying tee shirts, especially in this cool country, where even in the summer I walk into the overheated library* and overheat, then step back out into the overcast coolness of real life. And fancy athletic tee shirts, unlike regular tee shirts, are often really well-fitted, with princess seams and pockets. That means I get tailored shirts that still allow me to move my arms, which is my favorite part of knitwear. And the reason I only own the one blazer, requisite to my position as a grad student. (The fact that the blazer makes me look like an auror has nothing to do with it.)

Glen Nevis 3

In view of upcoming camping trips, I discovered my favorite way of making coffee: the plain white cotton bag. The bottom is flat, so I stand it up in my coffee cup, put in the coffee, cover the grounds with a few inches of water (filling the cup halfway), stir and let steep. When the coffee has become excessively strong, I press out as much moisture as possible between a spoon and the side of the cup, just like with a tea bag, and fill the cup with hot milk or water. I originally meant this method for camping, but the coffee tastes a lot better than it does from my Ikea french press, which has not-fine mesh and doesn’t actually compress the grounds if you make less than a full pot. So… cheapest coffee maker ever. And very portable. 

Glen Nevis 4

But before I go camping, it’s back to work. And after a weekend of–let’s be honest–mostly reading fiction, I am actually rested and ready to go back to work. Once more into the breach!

* Both the university and city libraries and painfully overheated, summer or winter. There must be some sort of minimum British Thermal Unit output requirement for British Reading Units. 

You will laugh when you see how many pictures I have of sheep. Mama K really wanted to get a good one. So the tourists corralled them slowly in the rental car. Scottish cowboys, that's us.

You will laugh when you see how many pictures I have of sheep. Mama K really wanted to get a good one. So the tourists corralled them slowly in the rental car. Scottish cowboys, that’s us.

