Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Give me a verb, I need a verb!”
… Translation is nothing more than a sick, sick game of Go Fish.

The highland fling at the international folk festival last night

The highland fling at the international folk festival last night

From the dictionary:
Undfan transitive verb
1) to receive, welcome
2) to take on
3) to recognize (a child)
4) to undergo (an ordeal)
5) to light on fire

…Wait, what? One of these things is not like the others. No wonder the Old Frisians died out, if that’s their approach to hospitality/child rearing.

Highland style.

Highland style. Yes, that is what you think it is. (Unless you’re over 40, in which case it probably isn’t.) 

An Irish nun, a Saxon monk, and a Roman bishop walk into a mystery novel, and all of a sudden I can’t remember how to pronounce a <c>. #OldWorldProblems

Bees in my kitchen! British bees are cute and fluffy.

Bees in my kitchen! British bees are cute and fluffy.

(Incidentally, I’m reading Ellis Peters’ Shroud for the Archbishop, a murder mystery set in 7th-century Rome and peppered with Latin, Irish and Old English. Talk about your busman’s holiday.)

This little guy held still for quite a while, sunning himself while I snapped away. And changed the settings. And snapped some more.

This little guy held still for quite a while, sunning himself while I snapped away. And changed the settings. And snapped some more.

I'm thinking it's the blackberry bushes that have taken over the courtyard and come into bloom.

I’m thinking it’s the blackberry bushes that have taken over the courtyard and come into bloom.

Happy weekend!

