Tags

, , , ,

“You’d have to have a big, big slug of whisky next to you, because it’s hard reading.”

– a lecturer

o O o

“Presentations… may be held in any language belonging to the family of West-Germanic languages.”

– call for abstracts for a linguistics conference in the Netherlands

o O o

“Your message says ‘I’ve attached’, but there is no attachment on the email. Send anyway?”

– Google, heading off one of the embarrassments of work emails. Although in this case, I really didn’t need to attach anything. But it’s nice to know Google has my back on this one.

o O o

“It’s raining and you shoved your raincoat in your locker before coming to class? What a perfect time for a fire drill.”

– my building. (Maybe it didn’t say that out loud, but that’s definitely the impression it gave as it stood impassively in the cold morning drizzle and I stood, much less impassively, clutching a thin, professional-looking wrap around my shivering shoulders.)

o O o

Some Dutch vocabulary I needed to get through my e-mail this morning:

hoogleraar: academic. I may never use the English word again. What do you do? Oh, I’m a hoogleraar.

kwestie: question, quarrel, dispute.

gefeliciteerd: congratulations. Having written the English word up there next to it, though, I’m not sure I can bring myself to make fun of the Dutch.

o O o

“Leeuwarden has a mild humid temperate climate with warm summers and no dry season.”

weatherspark.com on Leeuwarden, The Netherlands

