Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The Pentlands in Autumn 1

Christmaschristmaschristmaschristmaschristmaschristmas. Christmas!

It’s kind of on my mind.

Wind in the Pentlands, Autumn

Can’t you just see the wind?

I have been finalizing my lists of what needs to be sent to whom, from where, and how to get them prettily wrapped when I will never actually be on the same continent as the presents (thank you, mail order). There remain an appalling number of items to be knit, sewn, appliqued, stamped or otherwise constructed/embellished before our Thanksgiving Day package is sent, besides the ones to be purchased. I could be overwhelmed. But. Christmas.

And then the sun came out

And then the sun came out. 

And that’s besides the ones that I took care of ahead of time.

Sun on the Pentlands in Autumn

Also, I’m pretty sure there were snowflakes this morning. It was hard to tell, but it didn’t look like rain. And a Christmas tree has disappeared in Tollcross where no Christmas tree was before.

gnarly trees in the Pentlands

On a completely unrelated note, I discovered—as I went into the fabric store for yarn—that they sell waterproof nylon. For 4 quid a yard. I have all sorts of ideas for that nylon. Do I know its water table rating? No. Does it breathe? For what I have in mind, I really don’t care. But we are going to have good times together. (NTS is slightly alarmed. But it’s only 3 yards. For now.)

Sun on the Pentland moors

In a fashion much more in keeping with the season, I shower you with photos from our hike in the Pentlands last Saturday. It started out grey and ended up grey, but the in-between was stunning. When the sun is visible in the colder months, Scotland seems awash in a perpetual afternoon, as the light slants in from low in the southern sky. If some of the pictures are a little blurry, it’s because the “underwater” setting on the camera best captures the colors–which are, after all, the most important part of the season–but are a little low on focus. Apparently you don’t need to focus when you’re under water. Also it’s slightly depressing that the light conditions in Scotland are most accurately described as under water. And I suspect it’s more “North  Sea” than “Mediterranean”.

Autumn field in the Pentlands

But it has its moments.

