Tags

, , , , ,

A farmhouse in the Pentlands

A farmhouse in the Pentlands

Right before I woke up this morning, I had the perfect dream. We stood on a frost-covered hillside, all roped off as if waiting for an Olympic event. There were even a few cameras. And then what to my wondering eye should appear but a skier, whizzing down the slope. NTS, I said (in my dream), that’s why they have a dry ski area right outside of town. They never ski on the snow at all.

Beware of Tupping.  At a guess, I would say the farmhouse belongs to the owner of these sheep.

Beware of Tupping.
At a guess, I would say the farmhouse belongs to the owner of these sheep. I must say, the sheep were behaving decorously enough when we were there. Not like the penguins I once saw on a first date at the aquarium. 

And then one of the snowboards caught on fire. Apparently that happens if you go too near the torches.

NTS in the Pentlands

In case you were wondering, the only part of this dream that was inaccurate was the competition. And maybe the snowboard catching on fire. There really is an artificial ski slope just on the edge of town–you can see it from the taller university buildings. (Including one, built in the sixties, that sways alarmingly in the wind. I had class in that one last winter.) I quote:

Our 2 main slopes, 2 nursery slopes, jump slope and range of freestyle features mean we’ve got something to satisfy every level of ability.

Because the slopes are artificial you can enjoy snowsports all year round.

Spillway in the Pentlands

Brought up in Maine, where we have actual ski slopes, I’ve been looking askance at the pretend pistes since we arrived. I’ve never considered astroturf a good replacement for grass, let alone snow. But I must admit I’m curious. I see they have tubing. If we don’t get enough snow for sledding this winter (there was almost none last year, but I’m told that’s unusual), perhaps we’ll have a go.

woods path in the Pentlands

