Tags

, , ,

Friday, 12.17
This clementine is now officially too old to eat. I’ll just use it to prop my book open until it disintegrates.

13.30
I hate translation. A lot. There’s nothing to check your work against when you’re confused. I’m changing fields now. I’ll be out farming something if anyone wants me.

15.59
“It should be noted that the version of the Ten Commandments as presented here [in an Old Frisian legal text] deviates in several points from those found in Exodus, 20 and Deuteronomy 5.”

Huh. And here I thought it was going to be a quick translation. I wonder what they changed?

16.06
Suddenly grateful for Sunday school. This translation would be a lot harder if I didn’t already know where the story was going.

16.27
“You shall honour thy father and thy mother, so that you may live that much longer” (my translation). Will you live longer because it stops your parents from killing you when you become a teenager?

16.33
No coveting stuff that belongs to fellow Christians. No stealing stuff that belongs to fellow Christians. And treat fellow Christians like yourself (my paraphrase).

As for everyone else… no comment.

Monday, 11.47
‘Whensoever a servant betrays or murders his own master, he must by law be boiled in a cauldron’ (my translation). And this is a serious legal text. I’m not even sure I want to do medieval re-enactment anymore, this is gruesome. And I didn’t even post the part about the ‘nine-spoked wheel’.

13.37
The same word is used for ‘power’ and ‘genitals’. That would explain the difficulty I was having translating that passage. And possibly the state of the male psyche throughout history.

13.44
And apparently of the female psyche as well.

15.36
If a man breaks into a house and someone takes him over… porridge?

15.42
Just remember, they’re all dead. You’ve already won. No more revenge is necessary. Breathe in, breathe out.

Maybe that’s enough translation for the day.

