Tags

, , , , ,

So, my Darlings. You have been woefully neglected of late. This, of course, is because I have been Doing Things.

George Square narcissi

On Saturday we had an SCA (re-enactors) get-together to focus on natural dying and other period crafts. It looks like a great deal of work, but the colours they obtained were lovely. If I lived in that time period, the monotony of wearing undyed grey and off-white all the time would probably inspire me to take up dying. Not to mention that my current favourite hobby, freehand embroidery, would not be nearly as enjoyable or effective unless I did. Nevertheless, I think I’ll focus on the later stages of the process for now instead of the colouring phase.

George Square blossoms

Afterward, we joined other friends for a delightful fondue party.

George Square narcissi

On Monday, I got the most extraordinary new phone. The speaker on my flip phone had died, and not being able to make or receive calls was getting old. (Granted, I figured this out 2 months ago, but since the texting still worked, I was fine 60 percent of the time.) Since I’m seldom out of wifi range, I require very little from a cell phone–texting, sending and receiving calls, and the ability to check my voicemail without wanting to smash the phone (because apparently businesses leave voicemail when they can’t reach you instead of sending a text or email like a sensible human being). The shop was out of the single inexpensive flip phone they carry. It’s a miracle to find one at all, really. The young gentleman offered me the choice of the 10 quid non-flip phone, of the variety we called ‘chocolate bar’ when flip phones first came in, since it sat fat and unmoving in the hand, and a fifty quid, much shinier flip phone. Needless to say, I am now the proud owner of this little beauty:

pink phone

The last one in the store, she comes in “carnival pink”, which sounds more like a nail treatment than an electronic. She actually weighs less than my broken flip phone, and the buttons are nicer. Really, it handles more like a child’s toy than an electronic, with a nice tactile feel. The day they stopped making mainstream devices (phones, name-brand mp3 players) that you could operate by touch alone, without looking at them, was a sad day. It’s funny that they call it “touch” technology, because the big change was that you couldn’t actually operate them by touch; you need your eyes. Which makes the silly devices very difficult to operate while exercising, or even walking. How does a device you have to stop walking to operate increase convenience?

George Square narcissi

Maybe it’s because my eyesight is so poor that I adore the option to operate primarily without sight. I’m the person who uses every keyboard shortcut in Word by muscle memory because mousing takes longer. I can locate nearly anything in my house or laptop bag without turning on the light. So I like my new phone, with the easy-to-feel buttons.

George Square blossoms

I also went into the office on Monday to work on a research paper, but it was so quiet inside–nearly everyone is away for the Easter break–and so beautifully outside that the office didn’t stand a chance. I worked in the local park for a few hours and went home. George Square narcissi

On Tuesday I fled before the grimness of the silent office altogether. I went in long enough to purge my apartment of glass (the most convenient glass recycling is near the bus stop). I collected my work laptop and four of the most relevant books and vamoosed for the duration. Now that the sun easily clears the houses across the street, my living room is a much more inviting space than the office. Without the lure of colleagues, the office has little draw.

 

And my living room is much better for a quick yoga or hooping break. Sad fact: hooping 15-20 minutes a day is less beneficial than I hoped. It seems you have to make rather a commitment to it, and if I’m going to do that, I might as well exercise properly. But it will do for quick mid-day breaks or a morning pick-me-up. It’s not bad for wall art, either.

George Square narcissi

