Tags

, , , ,

A day or two after our return from Bolton Castle, I found the weather so irresistibly non-rainy that I went to the Meadows for lunch. Just as I was about to go, I heard the far-off drone of bagpipes. Were they getting louder? Slowly, slowly, they were. I didn’t move. Surely all would be revealed in time.

Royal Company of Archers

And so, in the fullness of time, there hove into view a piper and his stalwart companion, the drummer. And then, twenty paces behind, so as to be suitably heralded, a miniature phalanx of Scottish longbowmen, straight out of the past.

Royal Company of Archers

Royal Company of Archers

In a matter of two days, I had moved from medieval Scottish warfare to still-quite-old Scottish warfare. Or at least, the weapons give the impression of age, if the uniforms do not. The Interwebs indicate that this was the Royal Company of Archers. I am at a loss to decide whether this counts as historical or modern. If I wait long enough, it will have been both.

Royal Company of Archers

Royal Company of Archers

It was an interesting lunch break.

