Tags

, , , , ,

1. My chair. Last week, after extricating myself from the depths of the couch and moving to the floor, and then moving from the floor to the couch for the fourth time when the dust got too bad, I actually said to NTS, “You know what I need? I need a chair that’s just a platform for me to put my giant pillows on. Then I’ll be away from the cold and the dust, but able to sit upright without hurting my back, unlike on that couch.”

Fast forward two days to find me struggling down Merchiston Crescent with a great big chair frame pressed to my chest. I made it about halfway home before giving in and calling NTS to come help. But before he could get there… enter the marine. A stranger, soon to be part of Her Majesty’s marine corps, who carried the enormous chair frame the rest of the way home for me. I know nothing more about him, but he has my lasting gratitude. So I get the perfect platform for my cushions and an act of kindness from a stranger, all in one day.

2. On my way to the hairdresser, I discovered the New Leaf Co-op, a wee whole foods shop. Unlike Real Foods, where I get a lot of my “odd” groceries (you know, like legumes, grains, dried fruit and tea), it feels even more as though it’s part of a co-op barn somewhere, with plain wood shelving and things packed in everywhere, though it’s quite organized. My favourite part of the shop is the back, where you can scoop out whatever quantity of herbs, spices, legumes, bouillon, or fruit you want into a bag or jar. I bought a few tablespoons each of dried licorice root, juniper berries and peppermint for a project (see 5), and it came to 50p. Obviously, I will be trying my hand at home-mixed herbal teas in the near future.

The other charming thing about the shop is the jar station. People bring in clean jam jars with lids, and people take jars as they need them. As simple as that. A small act with no monetary gain, or even barter value, for the bringers of the jars or the store. Just a little bit of community.

3. This quote: “Today in Western culture, yurts are routinely used for glamping. (That’s glamour+camping, the bougie version of roughing it.)”

Ever since I first came across the term, “glamping” has rubbed me the wrong way. I think it’s because I’ve been camping since I was one. (There are pictures involving a tent and snow. I slept inside my daddy’s down vest, the perfect teeny-tiny down sleeping bag for a teeny-tiny person. My parents were obviously insane, but awesome.) We’ve always brought just enough to be comfortable, including enough amenities–rugged yet dainty wine glasses, delicious booze, pie–to feel like camping is already a delightful retreat, not a hardship. And the atmosphere can’t be beat. If the scenery requires gauze and quilts to make it palatable, you might want to move on anyway.

(UPDATE: My mother informs me that I was about 3 months old, which puts my snow-filled camping experience in spring. Because it turns out there’s a word for “spring” in Maine. They call it “winter”.) 

To be sure, I’ve stayed in some campgrounds–cough, Mystic–that might have been improved by amenities. That’s because the campground consisted of a field with lanes for driving. It would have been improved much more by containing some nature. Maybe trees. This is not camping, it’s a DIY hostel. If this is your situation, I recommend trying actual camping sometime in the near future, so you can see what nature looks like.

I think I dislike it because the word “glamping” implies that regular camping is not glamorous. Like it’s somehow lacking. I don’t object to the pretty amenities, but the word rubs me wrong.

Nice wine and battery-powered fairy lights, on the other hand, never hurt anyone and are an asset to any camping trip.

4. Actual conversation in the PhD office today:

“I saw your friend, Doctor Hu, yesterday.”

“He’s not a doctor yet.”

“Yeah, but he will be soon. And anyway, it’s too much fun to say. Does The Doctor even have a doctorate?”

“Of course he does.”

“In what?”

“In everything. While The Master only has a masters degree.”

“Oh, right. That’s why he’s so cranky.”

5. Flavored simple syrups. The name suggests that simple syrup, mostly used for making cocktails, mocktails, and flavored coffees, is easy, but it’s hard to express just how easy it is. Pour boiling water from the kettle over sugar, stir for a minute. Done. Adding herbs adds steeping time, but not a great deal of labor. The peppermint was very easy. And it smells delicious.

Now, the juniper… Do you know what’s stickier than sugar syrup? Crushed juniper berries soaked in sugar syrup. Those little bastards are almost up there with pine pitch. I finally used grapeseed oil to get the residue out of the mortar and pestle. They still smell like good gin, but I can’t say I mind. Incidentally, if you aren’t already a fan of gin, I suggest you find a small, unknown gin and give it another shot. I’m not a huge fan of the big-name gins, but there’s a local Edinburgh one that hits all the right notes. Every gin maker has their own recipe, and craft gin seems a lot like craft beer: that is, delicious. And not terribly expensive, either.

Why the fancy simple syrups? Yesterdays are a housewarming gift for someone, and today’s are going to a Mexican food party. Yes, for once all of us expats will have Mexican food. It will be delicious.

I should probably go buy tequila now. Or get back to work. I’ll leave it up to your imagination, which one I’m likelier to do now.

BONUS:

towel rack

My towel rack is smaller than your towel rack. The whole rack fits under the sink.

 

