Tags

, , ,

Tea time is always at four in the afternoon. And when one’s companion in tea is providing the scones with clotted cream and jam… well, then one needs to provide ballast, so as not to roll away from the party. My will power doesn’t extend to ignoring scones with clotted cream while at a tea party. Probably because I don’t really want it to. There’s no point in spoiling a good tea party with ill-timed abstinence.

scones

She makes really good scones.

On the other hand, adding cake or cookies on top of the scones seems unnecessary.

Enter the fish.

salmon crescents

Ingredients

1 large cucumber
1 small tin tuna or salmon
1 small red onion
1/4c plain greek yoghurt

dried or fresh chopped parsley
1 tsp lemon juice
freshly ground pepper
garlic powder
pinch of salt
dried or fresh chopped basil
paprika

1. Cut cucumber in half lengthwise. Use a melon baller, measuring spoon or teaspoon to scoop the seeds out of the middle and discard/eat them. The cucumber should resemble two dugout canoes.

2. Drain salmon.

3. Finely dice the onion. Mix onion, salmon, yoghurt, lemon juice and spices to taste.

4. Fill cucumber canoes with salmon mixture. Sprinkle with paprika. Cut into 3/4″ slices and serve.

I used salmon because apparently I stopped eating tuna several months ago, when I decided I didn’t like it enough to buy mayo only for that purpose. I hadn’t yet thought of using yoghurt. I had completely forgotten this decision, but happily I did decide, around the same time, to try tinned salmon. Then I promptly forgot about the fish.

(The last time I tried tinned salmon, I got the tin Trader Joe’s that still had bones in. When I opened the can to make tea sandwiches, Dani and I got too freaked out by the bones to actually use it. It was not a proud day for an outdoorswoman.)

So there you have it: tiny cucumber crescents fit for a tea party. Or perhaps for lunch. Finger-food-friendly, and much faster than making and filling individual cucumber cups. I’ve tried this with tuna, too, and it tastes just as good, if slightly more like tuna.

salmon crescents

