Tags

, , ,

Guys! Guys. I made a spoon.

starting a spoon

Reluctant to sacrifice the nice, big pieces on what would probably be a fruitless endeavor, I started with a rather small branch.

rounding the bowl

I’ve never needed to use an axe with that much precision before. It’s hard. But don’t worry, my fingers were never in any danger. Which, frankly, is probably why it was so hard–there’s no convenient place to hold on to.

spoon progress

It’s also very hard to get a hook knife into a very small bowl. But I did.

spoon progress

But my next spoon will be somewhat bigger.

rounding the back

NTS came home to find me sitting on a dropcloth on the living room floor, surrounded by wood shavings and whittling away. Not as scary as Sunday, when he came home from the store just as I was fitting the blade guard to the saw blade, but possibly unexpected. But realistically, the living room is the only room large enough to use a hand axe. (Why do you need an axe to make a spoon? To remove large pieces of wood, like the extra width around the handle, much more quickly than you can with a knife. This article about Barn the Spoon has an excellent video for illustration.)

spoon

Spoon carving is highly addictive. My biggest difficulty so far is knowing when to stop: when I can actually make the spoon smoother, and when it’s just done. Now to make some wood butter…

