Tags

, ,

Some snippets from my research lately:

o O o

So, what did you think of [university]?

Well, the linguistics faculty was in the humanities department…

[General laugh]

Yeah, all those students walking around, talking about books.

o O o

Every so often something happens to bring it home to me that at heart, I’m not so much a researcher as a scientist. Most often, this happens when I scoff at questionable research methodology. Or statistics abuse. Sometimes I have to remind myself that qualitative research is research, too.

I have a feeling I’m going to be in for a shock when I move to another university and end up immured in the humanities.

I’m pretty sure this is all just more evidence that every syntactician secretly wants to be a physicist, a condition known as physicist envy. (Not quite the same as physics envy).

o O o

How would a microfiche concordance of Old English even work? Basic corpus work was a lot more difficult in the past.

o O o

“The time frame under investigation will be primarily the first millennium before and the first millennium after the birth of Christ.” Since I was translating, I did a double take here. Yes, it really said millennium. That’s a whole lot of ground to cover. We’ll see how that goes.

In the same paper, I discovered that the change from BC to AD is called Zeitwandel in German, which translates to ‘timeswitch’. I don’t know why this doesn’t exist in English, and suggest we start using it forthwith.

