Tags

, , , , , , ,

... Happy Thanksgiving?

… Happy Thanksgiving? I guess kittens and espresso got too expensive. Or meat did.

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving. I certainly did, thought it was spectacularly backward. On Thursday, I taught first years to draw syntax trees. (Some of them ask really good questions.) Then, since NTS was away for the evening, I stayed in my favorite uni cafe until 7 and cranked out some really solid work on the dissertation chapter I’d been struggling to write.

Speaking of mozzerella.

Speaking of mozzerella.

Then home, to a solitary and delicious omelette. Sauteed red peppers, green onion, shredded mozzerella. I did spend some time deciding whether to add various spices as modifiers at the phrasal level (the sauteed veg) or sentential (omelette) level. I concluded that I was too hungry to care much when the spices were added, and that it was a good thing there’s only one more tutorial this semester. #syntacticianproblems

Scottish/Italian/Asian fusion. Welcome to the great metropolis of Lanark.

Scottish/Italian/Asian fusion. Welcome to the great metropolis of Lanark.

Friday I finished the draft of that chapter. W00t! I felt that I had really earned my Thanksgiving dinner. Then home to make ginger cranberry sauce (I will never served only canned sauce again) and sucre a la creme caramel sauce, which we ate on fruit, cookies and spoons (okay, that last was just me).

Fringe statues | FarOuterHebrides

Huh.

Why the cranberry sauce? Because Saturday was expat Thanksgiving. Three Americans and, oddly enough, three kiwis. I think I can say were were all thankful to hang out for two days and enjoy delicious food in each other’s company.

The official storefront of the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. Not the strangest thing you're likely to see at Fringe.

As for the pictures, they don’t have much to do with Thanksgiving. But really, haggis pizza and children burgers are too tasty blog fodder to pass up. (And I haven’t even gotten to the menu of The Bonnie Burrito yet.)

Fringe statues | FarOuterHebrides

Fringe statues | FarOuterHebrides

Fringe statues | FarOuterHebrides

The official storefront of the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. Not the strangest thing you’re likely to see at the Festival. Happily, it’s still eight months away.

UPDATE: Someone just slipped a truffle advert through my mail slot, with a sample. So much better than the usual unrelenting Virgin adverts. Also better than children burgers.

 

