Tags

, , , ,

Happy Advent!

Joyeux Noel jars | FarOuterHebrides

Of course I started decorating the Monday after Thanksgiving. Doesn’t everyone? It turns out that it was just what our apartment needed to go from tiny (we spent the weekend at our friends’ house, which is comfortably not tiny) to winter-cozy. Hygge, as the Danes put it.

The fact that I had to put everything away before I could decorate probably didn’t hurt, either.

In an attempt to share my hygge with all of you this Christmas season, today kicks off the first of 25 little posts of celebration. A virtual Advent calendar, in tribute to the tiny wooden doors that hung on our wall throughout my childhood. The cards will be posted alongside the ‘regular’ posting schedule around here. (Har, har.)

Now you can get back to your eggnog. Or whatever you drink at work in December.

