Tags

, , ,

img_9742

Since I’ve started making my peace with our tiny apartment, I’ve been paring down my collection of seasonal decorations. I’ve never been one for plastic decorations in the house; the pieces that get kept tend to be sturdy favorites in matreials I like to look at and touch, like wood and wool and sturdy glass. These are the items I pull out again, year after year.

img_9741

Even then I cheat. These wool pumpkins store flat, to be stuffed with whatever I have around in the fall: carrier bags, old t-shirts, summer socks.

img_9735

Nature fills in the rest. Distributing acorn squash around the house allows us to keep several on hand at any given moment, even with our tiny kitchen. I could eat them every day for the entire fall and not get tired of a well-cooked acorn squash. Perhaps it’s because they are so seasonal; you can’t get them here in the warmer months, so I revel in squashes in the fall.

img_9746

 

Every time I open a squash, it’s like being a kid with an enormous pumpkin again. The smell, the perfect scoop-shaped soup spoon to scrape the seeds out. The pumpkiny smell.

img_9750

Biting into an apple is just the same, a flashback to picking in the orchards at home. (Scotland is not known for its orchards.) Apples bred for long-distance grocery store shipping just don’t taste like apples, not like an utterly unshippable cox, so for the entirety of the fall season I revel in the red cheeks.

img_9738

Even in the city, there’s just enough nature to bring some inside. If I can’t cut fir branches for Christmas, the dying grasses and fallen leaves are plentiful enough for autumn.

And my orchids are blooming! NTS sure knows how to give a girl flowers. He brought these home over two years ago. This must be the second bloom for the lighter flowers, and the fifth for the fuscias.

img_9740

To be sure, I’m writing away too madly at my dissertation to devote much time to decoration (or blogging). I haven’t long now, and I’m panicking enough for any two people. But anything that takes me out-of-doors, or that offers a peaceful pace for my tired eye to rest, is a boon in these parlous times.

